Mustard of Another Kind

Years ago, my sociology professor invited a few of us students out to dinner. I don’t recall the reason for this, I don’t even remember his name, but I have always remembered one thing he said during the evening. “The only things spending a lot of money on are fine Scotch, fine caviar and fine mustanrd.” I understood the scotch and the caviar, but I was baffled by the mustard part. As far as I knew, mustard was the yellow stuff you put on hotdogs at ball games. Over the years, I discovered Grey Poupon Dijon, which is the only mustard I ever use since Except, of course, for the rare hot dog. But a couple of days ago, my husband came home with a jar of Savora mustard from Papillote. Try it, he said. So I opened the jar and put a dab on a cracker. Then I put more on the cracker and ate the whole thing. Delicious! A bit of Foodie Heaven, in fact. Since then, I’ve tried it on all sorts of things–cold cuts, meat loaf, turkey, roast beef. “Since 1899 the only condiment with 11 spices and aromatics” says the jar. All I can say is that it’s lovely, with a flavor that hints of sweetness and spice, with a woodsy undertone and hints of herbs….maybe rosemary and thyme. This little potion is good on everything, including those plain crackers onto which I’m still ladling it. Try it, folks, you’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

