The Elusive Quiche of Chef Herve

Papillote’s makes a lot of good eats, including plenty of delicious quiches. Some weeks ago, however, the Daily Specials included a quiche that sounded extra wonderful to me – one with smoked salmon and asparagus. My husband did as he often does and went downtown late in the afternoon and picked up one of these quiches, plus a few other goodies. That night, it was love at first bite. The blended flavors of asparagus and smoked salmon are a mixture made in heaven. The crust of this quiche is the lightest, most delicate I’ve had in many a year.

  I vowed to keep a close eye on the Specials menu so as not to miss this one. More than a week passed before it reappeared, and I asked Jack to go and pick one up. He did. Alas, they had already sold out.  I guess I wasn’t the only one to fall in love, I said. Next time it appeared, Jack called in advance to ask them to save one for us. They had already sold out. 

It was at least two more weeks before it reappeared on the menu.  Then, yesterday, there it was again. This time, we called and called and called. The line was constantly busy. Jack was going downtown anyway, and I pushed him to go early, so he showed up by 4 pm. No more quiche. But today, the chef had made some more. The minute I saw these elusive quiches on line, I called out to Jack. “Pick up the phone and call. They have more quiche!”  Jack called. Papillote was already sold out. It was only 2 pm!  If I ever get another of these deliciously vanishing quiches into my mouth, I’ll let y’all know.

Leave a Reply

